Tuesday, July 19, 2005

Check this out

I believe this is an attempt to steal the identity of an unsuspecting job hunter. Such as myself.
Why do I believe this? Who the fuck asks for your social security number in an email in 2005?
And what kind of recruiting agency sends emails from a different domain. And what kind of recruiter doesn't have a form letter that is free of mis-spellings and grammatical errors?

I would appreciate any legitimate offers to help me report these guys as attempting to Phish for identity theft.


Hi Cristopher, Hope you are doing good!

(Shouldn't it read, Hope you are doing well?)

This is Millie, from Ace Technologies an accredited IT consulting software solutions Provider .With more than 250 software consultants & 50 + Sales Managers working with more than 400 prestigious clients(including fortune 500 companies), we take pride as the trendsetters in IT industry & in sourcing the best of the project opportunities for our consultants all accross US.
(Above: Obvious punctuation errors. They can spell "prestigious", but they can't realize that 'Provider' shouldn't be capitialized and the period should follow immeidately at the end of the sentence.)
With reference to your profile would like to discuss our immediate client requirements . I have gone through your profile & I think we can market your profile to our client's for the Software engineer available with them.
(Above: Pretty much the same from above. Also not the negative cool points for use of an & in a professional communication. Its not very prestigious.)
Here are our a few clients: Oracle, AT&T, Lucent, General Motors, Price Water Coopers, Republic National Bank, Mulix, Tixtugo, Cisco, Real Networks, IBM, Sprint, R R Donelley, Several Internet Co., Philips, NEC, Ninex and many more.... Looking forward to a mutually successful association.

(OMG!!!! If I gave these people whatever they asked for, I could end up working for AT&T or Oracle or Lucent or General Motors or Cisco. This company is happening if they have ALL THESE CORPORATE CLIENTS WHO HAVE THEIR OWN INTERNAL JOB PORTAL AND DO NOT ACCEPT THIRD PARTY RESUMES!!!! WOW!!! I totally don't think this is the jaw dropping bait that is supposed to sucker me into GIVING AWAY MY SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER. Funny how their website only lists Microsoft and Sun as clients, and none of these two bit operations they're danging in front of me like candy.)

Also do reply the following queries:- 1) Name as on Passport: <-- Passport? Red Flag. 2) Correspondence Address: 3 ) Immigration status 4 ) In case of H1 B : Your H1 holder 5) Expected Salary/ P.A . 6 ) Whether any relocation Issues 7 ) 2 work References with contact details 8) Social Security Number
<---- BIG RED FLAG. BIG, BIG PRESTIGIOUS RED FLAG. 9) Total Work Ex 10) Relevant Work Ex 11) Total US Work EX

Thanks and Regards, Millie Chawla | Technical Resource Specialist | ACE Technologies Inc. | www.acetechnologies.com http://www.acetechnologies.com |Phone: 800.566.4604 Ext #383 | Fax: 408.324.1113 Resource Manager - Sanjeev Varshney | Ext # 261 | svarshney@acetechnologies.com svarshney@acetechnologies.com Note: We respect your Online Privacy. This is not an unsolicited mail. Under Bills.1618 Title III passed by the 105th U.S. Congress, this mail cannot be considered Spam as long as we include contact information and a method to be removed from our mailing list. If you are not interested in receiving our e-mails then please reply with a "REMOVE" in the subject line at support@fcsltd.com and mention all the e-mail addresses to be removed with any e-mail addresses, which might be diverting the e-mails to you. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Please also note the 24/7 customer support line seems to play some kind of vaguely indian synth-pop muzak.

Please note that I'm not implicating www.acetechnologies.com as a Phishing site, just fcsltd.com -- and while it MAY not be phishing for personal information with criminal intent, I think any recruiter with a brain knows that anyone with a brain isn't going to respond to an unsolicited email requesting their social security number.
I'm going to dig into this more. I'm sure it'll be one of those stupid "sagas" that is full of undue sarcasm, one sided bias, and dramatastic drama that all blogs as small as mine are known for.
On the other hand, I average 49 unique visitors daily. Woo!


Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link



<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?